I Blog Because I Love You

Yup. That ‘s right. Random internet you.

I love you. And not just a little. My love for you is only secondary to my love for God.

My God, the Christian God, is a God of love and of forgiveness, of peace and of mercy. Just as He has instructed me to love you, I do. There’s nothing that you did to deserve it, and there is nothing you can do to stop deserving it. Just existing is enough for me to love you.

Sometimes love is hard. Sometimes, we feel like we have stopped loving another, especially when another has hurt us. But really, deep down, it’s hard not to love.

Think about anybody: he or she has a life; interestingly, it’s a lot like your life. Sure, it looks a little different on the surface but consider these: there are the ups and the downs, the good and the bad; he’s got a work life and a home life; she went to school and struggled with some parts while excelling in others; he has challenges, things he tries to do or not to do; she has talents and gifts and strengths. And those a just a few of the multitude of aspects to a person. It’s easy, I think, to forget about he depth, the roundness of character that others have. It’s no challenge to fall into narcissism or selfishness and forget that everyone else is just as unique and complex as you are.

Upon realizing both that we are all amazingly complicated, unique, perfect and imperfect, it’s had to expect love for ourselves and not extend that love to everybody else.

I’ll leave you with a few quotations from Holy Scripture, and they have to do with love.

“He who does not love does not know God; for God is love.” 1 John 4:8

“Owe no one anything, except to love one another; for he who loves his neighbor has fulfilled the law.” Romans 13:8

“So faith, hope, love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13:13

All quotations from Scripture come from the Revised Standard Version (2nd Edition), Catholic Edition.

2 thoughts on “I Blog Because I Love You

  1. Nicely done, Noah! I will enjoy following your blog.

  2. Ok, Ok, I promise, i will try harder. I have a lot of excuses, don’t I? Thank you, Noah!

Leave a Reply

